Paradise in Australia: Lord Howe Island

IMG_7042

Lovers Bay, Lord Howe Island

When I was 5 years old, my family took my to paradise. Some of my earliest memories were created on this island, drinking milkshakes under frangipani trees, walking for so long my feet were sore and feeding fish in the sea. And then, 15 years later, my grandma surprised us by inviting us on a holiday back there again. To say I was ecstatic is a massive understatement, and I promptly created a countdown on my phone. I watched the numbers go from 317 all the way down to 0. But I was a little worried – would the paradise island of my memories still be as good as the island in real life?

Well, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

I can honestly say there is nowhere in the world I have ever felt happier or more at peace. I actually cried coming home because I didn’t know how long it would be until I returned again. This island is the closes thing to home away from home, and it seriously captured my heart. I don’t know if it’s the friendly locals, amazing wildlife, stunning beaches, crazy activities or beautiful scenes that make this place the best place on earth, but something does. Maybe it’s a combination of all of the above.

If you have never been to the wonderful Lord Howe Island, I cannot urge you enough to go. It’s a little pricey but every precious moment you spend on the island is worth it. You can go from a 10 hour hike up a mountain (yes, I did do this) to floating in the picture perfect blue. You can go from eating seafood and incredibly fancy restaurants, to a picnic BBQ lunch right on the seashore. It is perfect for everyone. And the peace and quiet? There’s nothing like it. There’s no internet and no reception, so you truly unwind, forgetting about what time it is and the pressures of daily life. You will never feel more relaxed, at peace, content or refreshed as you will on this island.It truly is a piece of paradise just two hours away from Sydney.

(I am fortunate enough to be heading back at the end of this year for Christmas! And yes, I am already counting down the days – 208 to go!)

4 thoughts on “Paradise in Australia: Lord Howe Island

Leave a comment